Brekeke Forum Index » Brekeke PBX Forum

Post new topic   Reply to topic
Using PBX to just to route calls between systems Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 11:36 am    Post subject: Using PBX to just to route calls between systems Reply with quote

1. Brekeke Product Name and Version:
3.8.3
2. Java version:
8v161
3. OS type and the version:
W7
4. UA (phone), gateway or other hardware/software involved:
Jive PBX and BSS
5. Your problem:
I want to coordinate a Jive PBX with my BSS. It is a strange setup where I must use a client to communicate with Jive, I can't do it straight with the BSS because BSS can't register on a PBX.
So my idea is to use the Brekeke PBX to make this bridge between both systems.
All systems are in different networks/sites and therefore only accessible through internet:
Jive proxy/registrar, Jive outbound proxy, Jive terminals, Brekeke SIP Server and Brekeke PBX.
SIP signaling will happen between all elements involved, but RTP should flow directly between Brekeke SIP Server and the Jive terminals.
Brekeke PBX will register on Jive registrar.
Brekeke PBX will receive calls from Jive outbound proxy and relay them, without handling RTP, directly to the Brekeke SIP Server.
There will be no routing to internal network on Brekeke PBX for these calls, they should just happen on internet.
As an option, I may in the future relay also calls from BSS to Jive
What is the quickest and simplest approach?
ARS for Jive and in the OUT pattern use the Brekeke SIP Server IP address?

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brekeke PBX bundles Brekeke SIP Server (BSS).
So you don't have to use an independent BSS in your scenario.
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately this is not an option. Different sites, different companies...

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is Brekeke PBX located behind the Brekeke SIP Server?
Or is it located in the front of the Brekeke SIP Server?
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BSS and Brekeke PBX are n different sites.
All elements are in different sites.

BR
Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My question is ...
Which is your deployment?

Jive -- Brekeke PBX -- Brekeke SIP Server
or
Jive -- Brekeke SIP Server -- Brekeke PBX
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I didn't realize it.
Jive receives registration requests from BPBX, and then sends calls to BPBX.
BPBX then sends the calls, which don't require further authentication (just trusted IP relationship), to BSS.

Therefore:
Jive <-> BPBX <-> BSS
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

> Jive <-> BPBX <-> BSS

It will work but my preference is like this.

Jive <-> BSS <-> BPBX

BSS's Upper Registration feature can forward BPBX's REGISTER to Jive.
With the above deployment, you don't have to write complicated DialPlan/ARS at BPBX.
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello James,

No, this won't work because Jive has different servers, one for registrar and one for outbound proxy. To make BSS work with thru registration in this case it would require 2 levels of outbound proxy.
If this would work I actually wouldn't need BPBX, I could make the system that is behind BSS authenticate on jive.
Sad

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

> ... because Jive has different servers, one for registrar and one for outbound proxy.

So the PBX needs to send REGISTER to Jive registrar, and send INVITE to outbound proxy?

It can be possible with BSS's DialPlan if a PBX (or any SIP client) behind the BSS.
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello James,
You are actually making me think a bit different.
BSS is an entry point for a network of GSM gateways in VPN. So what would actually happen is that I need the outbound proxy mainly to receive the INVITEs.
And the registration is just to tell the Jive system to which IP address to send the calls.
Therefore, if I have ANY SIP client, even a phone, make the registration on the registrar, the authentication conditions will be met and I can use BSS's DialPlan to handle the calls just as if BSS did the authentication.
Just as you mentioned.
I will try this,
Thanks

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is what I suggested.

You can send REGISTER from any SIP client through the BSS (with Thru Registration function) to the Jive to inform the BSS's IP address.

You can catch Jive's INVITE with BSS's DialPlan. So you can route this INVITE to any destination.


Thru Registration is enabled in the default.
So let you configure a SIP client to send REGISTER to the Jive's registrar with the BSS as the outbound proxy.

And test you can receive a call sent from the Jive at the SIP client through the BSS.

If it works, add a DialPlan rule to catch Jive's INVITE.
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello James,

Apparently it didn't work. Registration was denied because the realm was the realm of my BSS instead of their outbound proxy.


Any other suggestion?
If not, I'll have to check BPBX...

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which SIP UA client did you try?
Some SIP clients can handle this situation. I mean they can send re-REGISTER correctly even if both Outbound-proxy and Registrar send "407 Proxy Authentication Required" with unique realms.

To solve this issue quickly, disable REGISTER Authentication at Brekeke SIP Server. If you think this is a security risk, use $auth=off at DialPlan only for this SIP UA.
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

James,

I've tried a Snom IP phone, which works very nicely with other systems.

I will have to go back to BPBX, as it is the only way from their point of view to send the right REGISTER packet, as the realm must be their outbound proxy.

Now, I have already a BPBX set up on a Windows 2012 R2 machine, but for some reason it isn't sending out the INVITE when I program the ARS with user/password/registrar/outbound proxy.
Is it required to do the full BPBX configuration, including extensions, to make ARS start working? Or is just Windows Server tricky? Although I did shut down the firewall...
I have BSS running on W7 without any problem, so it would not be an issue for me to deploy the BPBX on another W7 machine.

What do you think?

BR

udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

> ... as it is the only way from their point of view to send the right REGISTER packet, as the realm must be their outbound proxy.

Does it send REGISTER to the Jive successfully?

> Now, I have already a BPBX set up on a Windows 2012 R2 machine, but for some reason it isn't sending out the INVITE

How did you try to send an INVITE from the Brekeek PBX?
Was it originated from an IP phone?
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it sends the REGISTER correctly, then I receive two rejects. The second one shows authentication issues.

Correction in what I've written regarding the INVITE of BPBX:I meant REGISTER, not INVITE.
From the ARS screen I try to register, using the REGISTER button.
I keep wireshark running with the SIP filter on.
No SIP packet leaves the machine.

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

> Yes, it sends the REGISTER correctly,

How did you observe the REGISTER? because you said "No SIP packet leaves the machine."...

Can you find any REGISTER attempt at [DialPlan]->[History] page?
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The snom phone sends the REGISTER correctly, not the PBX.

Dial Plan history is empty

In Start/Stop page there is an event: registration on the Jive registrar failed due to Timeout.

This is the part I don't understand. How can there be a registration timeout if no registration package was sent?

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For sending REGISTER from Brekeke PBX to Jive registrar, you don't have to use another phone such as Snom because Brekeke PBX can send REGISTER by itself.

> In Start/Stop page there is an event: registration on the Jive registrar failed due to Timeout.

It seems you have a configuration issue at PBX's ARS settings.
Did you set the correct Jive registrar address there?
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

> For sending REGISTER from Brekeke PBX to Jive registrar, you don't have to use another phone such as Snom because Brekeke PBX can send REGISTER by itself.
Yes I know, but the snom phone sent the REGISTER when I was trying to make it work with BSS. This option doesn't work, I have to use BPBX.

I've double checked: I had copy/pasted the info to the ARS screen and also to the snom phone.
Besides, if it was bad registration info, I would have a packet leaving the machine. Yet I'm using Wireshark to control if there is any SIP packet leaving the machine. No SIP packet is laving the machine.

Could it be because it is a VM?

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since DialPlan History shows nothing (Is it correct at the PBX's bundled SIP Server?), the PBX didn't send any REGISTER.

I suppose you missed some configuration at the PBX.
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found something, which is possibly a bug.
I'm having to use an alternate SIP port for BPBX because BSS is already on port 5060 and I prefer to open the SIP port on the firewall instead of redirecting the port.
When I change the SIP server port to something different from 5060 (tried 5070 and 6060) and renew the registration of the UAs, the calls don't work any more. BPBX becomes a black hole. I see the INVITEs and the UA sits there, waiting for an answer that never comes.
Once I change the port back to 5060 the UAs start communicating between themselves.
And now I have a message on the ARS attempt to register:
02-13 15:41:01: Register failed (Timeout) - user01@reg.jiveip.net
02-13 15:41:07: Register failed (408 SIP/2.0 408 Request Timeout) - user01@reg.jiveip.net

This time it is ok, because the port 5060 is directed to BSS, so I will always get a Timeout

BR

Udo
Back to top
View user's profile
james
Brekeke Master Guru


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did you change the PBX's port??
Do you mean you changed the port number of PBX's bundled SIP Server?
Back to top
View user's profile
uhupfeld
Brekeke Addict


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 49
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct.
The SIP port must not be changed from 5060
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Brekeke Forum Index » Brekeke PBX Forum All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2